fish-and-game-patch2

California Fish & Wildlife
Hunter Safety Education Program

California Hunter Education

In a continued effort to reduce firearm accidents, the State of California requires all first time resident hunters, regardless of age, to complete hunter education training or pass a comprehensive equivalency test before purchasing a hunting license.

ding1 

Atwater, Merced, Mariposa & Surrounding Communities

Safety First Shooting Association will offer the Traditional 10 hour Hunter Education class throughout 2019. These classes will not be every month so plan accordingly for draw dates and tags. This full length class will be offered over a day and a half format. This makes for a long day so please bring lunch, drinks, snacks and a learning attitude. Cost is $10 per attendee. Call Monica Musgrave at 209-652-4430 for more info. Classes are held at River Oaks Range Training Classrooms.

2018

December 1st, 1pm - 5pm
December 2nd, 8am - 5pm

2019

March 2nd, 1:00 PM - 5:00 PM
March 3rd, 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

May 4th, 1:00 PM - 5:00 PM
May 5th. 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

October 5th, 1:00 PM - 5:00 PM
October 6th, 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
 

ding1 

On-Line Course Alternatives

Three websites offering the On-Line course are:

Hunter-Ed.com - California Hunting Course
HUNTERcourse.com - Educating Hunters Online
Hunteredcourse.com - Fully certified by the IHEA (International Hunter Education Association) and by California for hunter education.

Information from the California Fish & Wildlife website begins HERE.

Certain individuals are restricted or prohibited from possessing firearms, ammunition and/or dangerous weapons because of a court order or a prior conviction.   To participate in Hunter Education Training you must not be restricted or prohibited due to a court order, terms of probation, terms of parole, or violations of certain sections of law from possessing firearms, ammunition, and or dangerous weapons.